What books are we bringing to the beach?

SkyhorseBooks, Uncategorized0 Comments

by Claudia D. Lucero

During these warm summer months there’s nothing better than basking in the sun, having sand in between your toes, and listening to seagulls cry out as they fly over the crashing ocean waves.

At Skyhorse HQ we love bringing a book (or two) to read and catch up on some well-well deserved Vitamin D! Here is a round up of recommended beach reads.

Happy reading!

1) If romantic comedies and chick lit are your “go to” picks, An Idiot In Marriage is sure to have you in belly laughs and shouting at the text on the page!

A hilarious follow-up to An Idiot in Love and is known to Jester fans as “the Bridget Jones’ Diary for men.”

Kieran McCall’s youth was a series of misguided attempts at love—a succession of sexual failures that always ended in disaster but somehow led to something worthwhile. As an adult, his failures looked like they were behind him. He married the love of his life and they had a child together, but chaos was never far away.

2) If you are more of a Doctor Who fan and would rather be traveling the madcap world of The Chronicles of St. Mary’s then you’re in great luck! The eighth book is finally here. Read And the Rest Is History to fulfill the day’s quota for adventure, tragedy, romance, and comedy!

The Chronicles of St. Mary’s tells the chaotic adventures of Madeleine Maxwell and her compatriots—Director Bairstow, Leon “Chief” Farrell, Mr. Markham, and many more—as they travel through time, saving St. Mary’s Institute (too often by the very seat of their pants) and thwarting time-travelling terrorists, all the while leaving plenty of time for tea.

3) Not so much into romance or comedy? What about a police procedural? For fans of the TV show The Fall will be at the edge of their seat reading Cut To The Bone. This debut thriller is a fresh spin on the psychological implications of a life lived online.

Ruby Day is a young vlogger, a rising star of YouTube, and a wholesome role-model to millions of teenage girls. And she is missing. Detectives are brought in for what they expect to be a routine runaway. Then a video of a wild-eyed Ruby running through the woods and begging for her life is posted online. Amid mounting hysteria and heightened media coverage calling for Ruby’s safe return, Riley and Harris must decode the dark secrets of this seemingly squeaky-clean internet darling.

4) Ready for something gruesome? If you’re more inclined to horror and suspense sink your teeth into In the Valley of the Sun.

Haunted by his past, Travis Stillwell spends his nights searching out women in West Texas honky-tonks. What he does with them doesn’t make him proud, just quiets the demons for a little while. But after Travis crosses paths one night with a mysterious pale-skinned girl, he wakes weak and bloodied in his cabover camper the next morning—with no sign of a girl, no memory of the night before.

5) For readers who want to go behind the scenes of the literary world pick up Apprenticed to Venus

Set in the underground literary worlds of Manhattan and Los Angeles during the sixties and seventies, Tristine charts her coming of age under the guidance of the infamous Anaïs Nin: author of the erotic bestseller Delta of Venus, lover to Henry Miller, Parisian diarist, and feminist icon of the sexual revolution. As an inexperienced college-bound girl from the San Fernando Valley, Tristine was dazzled by the sophisticated bohemian author and sought her instruction in becoming a woman. Tristine became a fixture of Anaïs’s inner circle, implicated in the mysterious author’s daring intrigues—while simultaneously finding her own path through love, lust, and loss.

6) Fans of George R.R. Martin and Phillipa Gregory will be enthralled with Wonders Will Never Cease. It’s Neil Gaiman approved!

Beginning with the Palm Sunday battle of Towton, the bloodiest ever fought on English soil, Wonders Will Never Cease relates the fabulous adventures of one man and his noble family amid the chaos and political intrigue that beset England during the War of the Roses, when two great houses battled for control of the throne. The young Anthony Woodville, Lord Scales and brother to the future queen, Elizabeth Woodville, seems to die during that battle and be resurrected. While dead, he witnesses the Grail ceremony last seen during the age of King Arthur, before England was cursed by war and Hell so filled with bodies that the dead now walk the land.

Let us know in the comments below what books you bring to the beach!

Share this Post

An Idiot in Marriage
by David Jester
ISBN 9781510704343

And the Rest Is History
The Chronicles of St. Mary’s,
Book Eight
by Jodi Taylor
ISBN: 9781597809061

Cut to the Bone
by Alex Caan
ISBN 9781510719439

Apprenticed to Venus
My Secret Life with Anaïs Nin

by Tristine Rainer
ISBN 9781628727784

Wonders Will Never Cease
by Robert Irwin
ISBN 9781628728637

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *